Under the law, a Jones Act lawsuit must be filed within 3 years of the accident date. However, before relying on that 3 year period, it is important to know for sure if your case qualifies under the Jones Act or another law, such as the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (LHWCA), general maritime law, or state worker’s compensation law.
In order to qualify under the Jones Act, a number of requirements must be met. For instance, the injured victim must be considered a Jones Act seaman who was contributing to the mission of a certain vessel or fleet of vessels for a certain length of time. It must also be determined whether the injury occurred on a “vessel” capable of navigation.
Have You Been Injured On Your Louisiana Maritime Job?
If you've been injured at your maritime job or at sea, you need to speak with an experienced Jones Act attorney as soon as possible. Please contact me online or call my Covington office directly at 985.590.6182 to schedule your free consultation today. I help clients throughout Louisiana including Mandeville, Slidell, Bogalusa, Franklinton, Hammond, New Orleans and Metairie.